About GCU’s Lambda Pi Eta Chapter

What is Lambda Pi Eta (LPH)?

LPH represents what Aristotle described in his book, "Rhetoric," as the three ingredients of persuasion: logos (lambda) meaning logic, pathos (pi) relating to emotion and ethos (eta) defined as character credibility and ethics. Lambda Pi Eta is the official honor society of the National Communication Association and follows six goals that exemplify the three ingredients of persuasion. LPH is also an officially recognized National Honor Society. Alpha Beta Sigma is GCU's official chapter name.

What is the mission of Lambda Pi Eta?  

  1. Recognize, foster and reward outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies
  2. Stimulate interest in the field of communication
  3. Promote and encourage professional development among communication majors
  4. Provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas in the field of communication
  5. Establish and maintain closer relationships between faculty and students
  6. Explore options for graduate education in communication studies

Membership Requirements

  • Complete 60 semester credit hours (90 quarter credit hours)
  • Have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 for all courses taken
  • Complete the equivalent of 12 semester credit hours (18 quarter credit hours) in communication studies
  • Have a minimum GPA of 3.25 for all communication studies courses
  • Currently be enrolled as a student in good standing, as determined by the institution's policies
  • Rank within the highest 35% of one's class in general scholarship  


Meeting Time and Location
Third Wednesday of each month
11:15 a.m.
Location: COE 101

Officer Information

President
Hannah Johnson  
hjohnson5@my.gcu.edu

Treasurer
Samantha Brewer
sbrewer3@my.gcu.edu
602-430-5454

Vice President
Paige Ferrari
pferrari@my.gcu.edu

Secretary
Lauren Abraham
labraham04@my.gcu.edu
602-616-8527

Scholarship Officer
Emily Ballam
eballam1@my.gcu.edu
428-978-5520

Scholarship Officer
Emmett Foster
efoster3@my.gcu.edu
928-386-3388

Advisor
Joshua Danaher
joshua.danaher@gcu.edu
602-639-7712
College of Humanities and Social Sciences


Contact Us!

facebook Find Us on Facebook!