Meet your Peer Mentors

Melanie Akai Melanie Aki
Peer Mentor/Data Specialist

Hometown: Hilo, HI
Major: Athletic Training   
My name is Melanie Aki and I am both a peer mentor and a data specialist for the First Year Experience Peer Mentor Program. I am majoring in athletic training and plan to further my education after I graduate from GCU by attending physical therapy school. In my free time I like to hang out with friends and family. I enjoy reading, listening to music and relaxing.

Bre Dresser Bre Dresser
Peer Mentor

Hometown: O'Fallon, MO
Major: Business Management   
My name is Bre Dresser. I am a freshman at Grand Canyon University majoring in Business Management, and I work in the Center for Learning & Advancement offices. I currently work with the First Year Experience program and the progression of GCU's new Honors Institute. Although my hometown is technically in Missouri since that's where my immediate family currently lives, I consider my real hometown in Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania. When I'm not in class or working, I love hiking, trying new ways to stay in shape (everything from aerial arts to yoga), and doing anything that involves being around people. I already love GCU and the Phoenix area after only a few months, and I can't wait to see what God has in store for me!

Sarah Gallegos Sarah Gallegos
Peer Mentor

Hometown: Waddell, AZ
Major: Elementary and Special Education   
My name is Sarah Gallegos. I am a Peer Mentor in the Center for Learning & Advancement at GCU. I am a sophomore studying Elementary and Special Education to become a teacher. I enjoy being a peer mentor because I enjoy helping others reach their goals. When I am not in class or working, I like to watch movies, hike, play sports, read and eat. I have seven brothers and sisters along with nine nieces and nephews.  

Shelby Gibson Shelby Gibson
Peer Mentor

Hometown: Spokane, WA
Major: Nursing and Business Management
My name is Shelby Gibson and I am a sophomore here at Grand Canyon University. I am a Peer Mentor because I have a passion to serve people and help them reach their fullest potential. Outside of work and school I love being active and trying new things. I am really committed to my family, faith and friends. I also love volunteering and making people's day any way I can! Jamming out to music and dancing with my close, non-judgmental friends is probably one of the most enjoyable things in my life!

Vincent Indelicato Vincent Indelicato
Peer Mentor

Hometown: Phoenix, AZ
Major: History
Hey ‘Lopes! My name is Vincent Indelicato. I am a history major enrolled in the Honors Institute. Born and raised in Phoenix, Arizona, GCU was my calling. When I am not studying in front of the giant television in Starbucks, I am biking around campus enjoying the atmosphere. I love baby carrots and consume them as a dessert. Meeting new people is my hobby and will chat up a storm given the chance. I hope to be a RA and a Peer Mentor next school year so that I might help students enjoy college to its fullest.

Esther Kelley Esther Kelley
Peer Mentor

Hometown: Lincoln, NE
Major: Nursing
My name is Esther Kelley and I am from Lincoln, Nebraska. I am a freshman majoring in Nursing at Grand Canyon University. I currently work with First Year Experience and the progression of GCU's Honors Institute here in the Center for Learning & Advancement. I originally chose Grand Canyon because of the well-known Nursing program and scholarship opportunities. However, once I began attending GCU, I was amazed at the close-knit Christian environment and became involved in student life including events like Chapel, theGathering and Life Groups. When I'm not studying or hanging out in Starbucks, I enjoy hiking, playing tennis, watching movies, reading and exploring Arizona with friends.

Maria Kieser Maria Kieser
Peer Mentor

Hometown: Brimfield, IL
Major: Special/Elementary Education   
My name is Maria Kieser. I am studying Special/Elementary Education. I am so excited to have my own classroom and work with students daily. I will be graduating in the fall of 2014. I grew up in a small town in central Illinois and although I miss my family and friends at home, I am so thankful the Lord brought me to GCU for school. I am blessed with an amazing community and the opportunity to be a life leader on campus. As a peer mentor, I love supporting students and helping them to make the most out of their year. Outside of those commitments, I enjoy spending time with friends and exploring Phoenix. Coffee, movies and the outdoors are often included in a typical week.

Reyna Mosley Reyna Mosley
Peer Mentor

Hometown: Peoria, AZ
Major: Biology and Pre-Medicine
My name is Reyna Mosley. I am a Peer Mentor in the Center for Learning & Advancement at Grand Canyon University. I am currently majoring in Biology with an Emphasis in Pre-Medicine. After I graduate, I plan on going to Medical School. I hope to become a Pediatrician one day. I have lived in Arizona for most of my life, but I was born in Atlanta, Georgia. I love that my job allows me to create lasting friendships and help empower students inside and outside the classroom. I chose GCU because I enjoy the tight-knit community of students as well as the core Christian values. My hobbies include running and hiking. I love staying active and being outdoors. When I am not hiking or running, I am usually spending quality time with my family and friends.

Jonalyn Myren Jonalyn Myren
Peer Mentor

Hometown: Scottsdale, AZ
Major: Business Administration   
My name is Jonalyn Myren. I am a sophomore here at Grand Canyon University and absolutely love it. I was born and raised in Scottsdale, Arizona and I am currently studying Business Administration, but I hope to eventually go on and obtain my Doctorate in Physical Therapy because I formerly injured my knee twice. I love being a peer mentor because I am able to meet various people and provide them with opportunities to reach their fullest potential. When I am not in class or working, I love to watch movies, go on Pinterest and hang out with friends. I enjoy being active and love anything that has to do with the outdoors including hiking, fishing, shooting, boating and camping.